Rita’s Modesty Review – Halftee’s

ModestyReview

Rita’s Modesty Review – Halftee’s

By Rita Davidson

 

I seen these online and got excited!  (well doesn’t take much for me! LOL)  I got a couple of these HalfTee’s  and posted them on Facebook and found some interest so promised them I’d post a review. Here it is! 🙂

When you think of the price, I guess you could likely get a t-shirt for cheaper than these.

My good friend, “Sharon” suggested, “I buy men’s tank shirts to wear under things. They come up higher on the chest, are longer, lightweight, and cheap. That’s just me, though” 🙂 So that is one thing to keep in mind. I guess the added plus here, is these have the sleeves we need not only a neckline filler.

Now if you want to try these, hopefully I’ll give you a good idea if they are worth your while or not, So here we go!

HALFTEE’S

I have two, one with a cap sleeve and a brown one with ¾ sleeve. That was the only selection offered at the time. I can tell you right now the ‘cap sleeve’ version is just way TOO short. Look at this! 🙁  Blech!! Shudder…

2014-06-08 16.11.22

 

 

 

 

 

 

“A dress cannot be called decent …..which does not cover the arms at least to the elbows”

You can guess I don’t wear this one…but is great to fill in a neckline if you have a sweater, or jacket, so not a complete waste. 🙂

 

FABRIC CARE

I love the fabric, it’s light and so soft and comfy.  They are mostly 48% Cotton, 48% Modal, 4% Spandex.

2014-06-08 15.50.00

 

 

 

 

 

 

Washing includes with “like colors” and “line dry” for longest wear. They have double stitched flat neck hems, so stay in place and don’t sag, which is nice!

2014-06-08 16.30.36

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And because there is no bottom, (it does take a bit of getting used too! Where is my shirt?LOL) there is one less layer in the heat. NO one said we had to dress overly warm just to be modest if we can use some new creation to do it!

Now, I know some places get terrible warm, here in Canada we get pretty hot too. The other day was 101.3F so believe me we get our share of heat and humidity too! (Just ask those that have left the Ottawa Valley because of the humidity!) 🙂

The smoothness of the fabric makes these not feel hot and heavy, which is nice.

They are also reversible and one side is higher than the other too.

MATERNITY !

The half sizes are also perfect for expecting mothers as it would ride above a growing belly and not give extra bulk under a tank top or jumper (oh my did I said jumper! Duh – I love jumpers! :))

STYLES:

They carry a ton of styles and color choices including. Here are my suggestions. * are the only styles I can say are okay for modesty. Others are see through, but here are my thoughts, and be sure to take a look yourself:

  • *Tank (perfect to cover a deep vNeck or something, instead of the modesty panels that don’t often stay in place well.)
  • Cap Sleeve (too short)
  • *Boyfriend (True 1/4  length, it passes (Note: Quarter length sleeves are tolerated, with Ecclesiastical Approval, for the time being until Christian womanhood again turns to Mary as the model for modesty in dress.)
  • *¾ length (Ideal length!) I love this, as it could also be pushed up to the elbow for true elbow length! see below)
  • Lace Short Sleeved (too see through)
  • *Long Sleeved (perfect for winter, under vests, or sweaters.)
  • Tank Lace (too see through for even neck coverage)
  • Burnout (I’m not sure what this looks like it real life. It could possibly work)
  • Peekabo (Has lace at the neckline as a filler, seems to see through)

2014-06-08 16.12.52

 

 

 

 

 

 

The  ¾ sleeve or full sleeve are perfect for fall weather, or if you prefer ¾ sleeve in summer.

The wide array of colors could make these really expensive! LOL But having basic colors like white, or ivory, brown or black would be enough to fill out your wardrobe and keep costs down.

KIDS STYLES

Yes, they have four choices available in kids sizes too.  ¼ sleeve and long sleeve but no ¾ sleeve it seems.

PLUS SIZED too!

Yup! Why else would I have some! haha 🙂 so this doesn’t leave us plus sized moms out! Nothing is more fun than to find proper fitting clothes when you are plus sized. Oh the relief! 🙂 It always makes me squeal to find well fitting plus sized clothes! 🙂

Keep in mind, for plus sized and well endowed moms, that these are ‘half-sized’ shirts…so for some of us, they might not be long enough and could even pull down on the front. You’ll have to keep an eye on that, ( I’m a DD+ and they fit me). Anyone larger than that might have to try them.

PRICES

They range in price from $14.99 up to 34.99 but for boyfriend (1/4 sleeve) and ¾ sleeve are $19.99 and 23.99 respectively. And if you join their mailing list they are always running sales from what I’ve seen!


So there we go another option for easy modesty, so there ‘should’ be no excuse! Let me know if you try these how YOU like them? And if there is something else you’d like me to review, share your ideas with me here! My first writing job was writing reviews for a homeschool paper, so these are easy and fun, and helpful for you!

Also, share with you’re your modesty struggles, I SO MUCH want to see this work for YOU!

With love,

Rita Xo 🙂

©Copyright 2014 Rita Davidson    ALL Right Reserved.

IMG_0905Rita is a Catholic wife, and mother of seven, with three autistic boys. Currently a writer, & published author, she is a former hairdresser, professional make up artist with a degree in Natural Health. She is now a Young Living Distributor. After overcoming a stroke, disabilities, and more, they recently lost everything in a devastating house fire that made them homeless for six months. She is determined to lead souls back to Christ by carrying their crosses with Joy!

Comments 4

  1. The only t-shirt type tops I have found useful through the last couple years were on ricci fashion . They have tops that actually cover the chest area. They have sleeveless, for just filling in neckline, and long sleeve, for layering. (I am not connected with them in any way, except to have a link to their site from CatholicModesty. I make no money from them in any way.) Except in a pinch, I personally would not use halftees because of how low cut they are, from my personal point of view, but the idea, in theory, is great! I would consider writing to them to ask them to start a line of higher neckline tees. Unfortunately in today’s fashion climate I do not think they would be able to make a profit on them.
    God bless you in your important work.

    1. Post
      Author

      Thanks Deborah for sharing that resource. It looks great for plus sizes too!
      The halftees are not as low as they may look. They do have a higher side that is reversible to bring up the front more. The images of my wearing them are not as low as the site itself. The tanks on that site are really great you linked too. Though they have a neckline right across the collarbones that is fine but not required to be that high. (Two fingers breadth…)
      I hope this helps?
      God bless,
      Rita
      Author: Immodesty, Satan’s Virtue (2001) and more…

  2. I am so glad to see your review of these! I just found out about them a few days ago and was wondering about the sizing and if they were modest enough for the Catholic guidelines.

    1. Post
      Author

      Thank you Mrs. O,
      So glad you enjoyed the review!
      Yes, they might need to be pulled up a little at the front, One side is higher than the other, but otherwise, they are fine for our guidelines. I suggest at least the ‘boyfriend’ length for sleeves.
      This is an ‘affiliate’ link…so it does help us a bit if you purchase from our link. But I rarely recommend anything I don’t already wear myself!
      God bless you!
      Rita
      Author: Immodesty, Satan’s Virtue (2001) and more…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.